Writing 101, Day Fourteen, Dear Florida

Writing 101, Day Fourteen: To Whom It May Concern

Dear Florida,

It’s been way too long since I’ve had a chance to visit you. My last few trips, I’ve just been passing through on my way to another destination, whether a Caribbean island or a cruise ship leaving from Miami.

I have fond memories of the times we spent together. A trip to Disney World way back before my children were born. My first business trip was to a city in Florida, I can’t remember which, over thirty years ago now. Although I was traveling alone, it was a good trip because my hotel was near the beach. I remember driving up A1A from the airport, watching the show. On a trip with my husband, We ate at Mother Butler’s Pies, a chain of restaurants serving only pie. It was so good, we took two pies home with us on the plane.

Hopefully we’ll be able to get together soon. I still want to see the Florida Keys, including, of course, Key West. As you know, I’m a huge Jimmy Buffet fan. Wouldn’t it be great to see him in concert somewhere in Key West? And what about Dry Tortugas? I’m up for a helicopter ride out to the island and some snorkeling. I hear it’s some of the best snorkeling in the US. Oh, and the everglades. I’d like to see the everglades and the people that live there. It seems like such a unique way of living.

Before I started writing this letter, I had forgotten how many great things there are for us to do together. Maybe things will work out and we can get together again some time.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Writing 101, Day Fourteen, Dear Florida

Leave a Reply

